Premier League Gives Out August Awards

Premier League Gives Out August Awards

The Premier League has given out their first monthly awards of the 2018-19 season.

The English top flight has awarded the Player of the Month to Tottenham’s Lucas Moura, the Manager of the Month to Watford’s Javi Gracia, and the Goal of the Month to Jean Michaël Seri.

Staring with Moura, the 26-year-old winger appeared in every match for Spurs in August and essentially served as the team’s replacement for South Korean superstar Son Heung-min. He took advantage of the opportunity by scoring three goals for his side including a brace against Manchester United.

The Brazilian defeated Cardiff City goalkeeper Neil Etheridge, Chelsea left-back Marcos Alonso, Liverpool center-back Virgil van Dijk, and winger Sadio Mané, Manchester City left-back Benjamin Mendy, and Watford midfielder Roberto Pereyra to become the first from his country since David Luiz in March 2011 to win.


Watford’s skipper Javi Gracia beat Chelsea’s Maurizio Sarri, Liverpool’s Jürgen Klopp, and Tottenham’s Mauricio Pochettino to win his first Manager of the Month award.

The 48-year-old helped lead the Hornets to three consecutive wins in August, including a demanding 3-1 road win against Burnley. He has all but silenced any skeptics, some of whom said that the black and yellow was not good enough to survive the English top flight for another season.

And with a 2-1 victory over Spurs in early September, Gracia’s squad is now only one of three teams in the league with an unbeaten record.

Screen Shot 2018-09-07 at 12.43.31 PM

And finally, Fulham center midfielder Jean Michaël Seri became the first player from Côte d’Ivoire to win the Goal of the Month award. He scored said goal during his side’s 4-2 victory over Burnley.

He is only the second player from a newly promoted team to win the award. The first was Middlesborough’s Cristhian Stuani.

His goal can be viewed here.

For more on future monthly awards from the English top flight, keep it locked on to the Game Changer Sports Network.


Photo Credits

  1. Lucas Moura – Twitter
  2. Javi Gracia – Twitter

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: