Ovechkin, Laine, Malkin Lead Race for Rocket Richard Trophy

Ovechkin, Laine, Malkin Lead Race for Rocket Richard Trophy

The Rocket Richard Trophy is awarded to the league’s leading goal scorer at the NHL Awards in June every year.

The trophy honors Canadiens’ legendary Hall of Famer Maurice “Rocket” Richard who was known for his countless records set for goal scoring.


As of right now, Washington’s Alexander Ovechkin leads the league with 42 goals with 12 games remaining in the season.

This will be the 8th time in his career to hit 50 goals if he is able to get 8 more by the end of the season.


Right behind Ovechkin with 41 goals is Winnipeg’s Patrick Laine with 11 games remaining in Winnipeg’s season.

Laine was able to have an impressive rookie season last year with 36 goals and 28 assists in 73 games, and was able to have an even more impressive second season opposed to the infamous sophomore slump.


Pittsburgh’s Evgeni Malkin is in third with 40 goals and 10 games remaining.

Malkin has only been able to hit 50 goals in a season just once, 2011-12, his next highest was 47 goals in 2007-08.

If I had to guess who I think is going to win this award, I’d have to say Ovechkin as he does have the most games remaining, and has a history of hitting 50 goals in a season, which I do not think Malkin or Laine will be able to do unless they hit a hot streak.

Photo Source:

Featured: http://www.canoe.com

Ovechkin: http://www.thestar.com

Laine: http://www.starherald.com

Malkin: http://www.post-gazette.com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: