Naito Reclaims Double Gold at Summer Struggle in Jingu

Naito Reclaims Double Gold at Summer Struggle in Jingu

The night would see four titles change hands, headlined by Naito Tetsuya gaining a measure of revenge on his former team member EVIL. In a main event where the two would face off for both the IWGP Heavyweight and Intercontinental titles, Naito reclaimed both titles, making history as he won them together a second time. He now also holds the record for most Intercontinental Title reigns at 6, beating out Shinsuke Nakamura’s 5 reigns.

It was a match that was consumed in chaos, as both had members from their respective teams (Los Ingobernables de Japon for Naito, and Bullet Club for EVIL) charge the ring to help even the odd. In the end though, it was Naito victorious under the starry sky at Jingu stadium.

The night was packed full of action throughout the whole card. Both the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight and the NEVER Openweight swapped hands in fantastic matches, both in bouts that defined their division’s style. Taiji Ishimori was able to wear down and beat fan favorite Hiromu Takahashi for the Jr. Heavyweight title, while Minoru Suzuki was able to brutalize his way over Shingo Takagi for the NEVER Openweight belt.


Summer Struggle also would name the KOPW 2020 Champion, in a rare match for New Japan, a 4-Way match. Toru Yano would surprise everyone with a lowblow roll up combo over New Japan Ace, Kazuchika Okada to take home the comically small trophy. As the KOPW 2020 Champion, Yano will have to defend his title throughout the year in stipulation matches, something New Japan does not usually have alot of.

Summer Struggle has set the stage for New Japan as they head into the famed annual round robin tournament, the G1 Climax, giving the winner a contract to the IWGP Heavyweight title in the main event at Wrestle Kingdom in January.

Full card results:

Yoshinobu Kanemaru defeats Master Wato via roll up.

KOPW 2020 4-way match:
Toru Yano beats El Desperado, SANADA, and Kazuchika Okada by pinning the latter via roll up.

Never Openweight title match:
Minoru Sazuki defeats Champion Shingo Takagi via Gotch style piledriver

IWGP Jr. Heavyweight title match:
Taiji Ishimori submits Hiromu Takahashi via Yes Lock

IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team title match:
Taichi and Zack Sabre Jr. (Dangerous Tekers) defend against Kota Ibushi and Hiroshi Tanahashi (Golden Ace) via Zack Mephisto

Double title match IWGP Heavyweight and IWGP Intercontinental title match:
Naito Tetsuya defeats EVIL via Destino

Feature Image Credit: Matthew Boyce/ Game Changer Sports Network

Would you like to advertise with Game Changer Sports Network? We have the perfect opportunity for any and all businesses! Please contact Jake at to discuss potential advertising space with us!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: