Lionel Messi Wins 6th Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi Wins 6th Ballon d’Or

Earlier tonight, Lionel Messi outlasted Virgil van Dijk, Cristiano Ronaldo, and 27 other football superstars to win his record-setting sixth Ballon d’Or award. The Argentine international finished the first 11 months of this year with 46 goals for both club and country and led FC Barcelona to both a La Liga title as well as an appearance in the semifinals in the Champions League en-route to reaching this historic milestone.

The 32-year-old Messi was handed the world-famous trophy by 2018 winner Luka Modric and then proceded to express his gratitude toward his family, teammates, and coaches.

“I am very lucky, I am blessed, I hope I will continue for a long time. I realize that I’m lucky even if one day it will be time to retire.”

The Argentine miracle worker had an exceptional 2019. If you were to look at his CV for just this season, you’ll find that he became the winningest player both in Barcelona and La Liga history, became the first player in FCB history to score 600 goals, scored a goal against his 34th different team in the Champions League, scored the goal of the UCL against Liverpool, and won FIFA’s “The Best” award.

Photo Credit – Albert Gea/Reuters

Messi defeated some stiff competition this year including his eternal rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who finished third, and Liverpool brick wall Virgil van Dijk, who finished second. Liverpool wingers Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah rounded out the top five. Below, we will have the final ranking from 30th all the way to 1st.

From all of us at the Game Changer Sports Network, we wish to congratulate Lionel Messi for achieving yet another milestone to his nearly perfect career.

Final 2019 Ballon d’Or ranking:

  • 1st – Lionel Messi – Barcelona/Argentina
  • 2nd – Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool/Netherlands
  • 3rd – Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus/Portugal
  • 4th – Sadio Mane – Liverpool/Senegal
  • 5th – Mohamed Salah – Liverpool/Egypt
  • 6th – Kylian Mbappe – PSG/France
  • 7th – Allison Becker – Liverpool/Brazil
  • 8th – Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich/Poland
  • 9th – Bernardo Silva – Manchester City/Portugal
  • 10th – Riyad Mahrez – Manchester City/Algeria
  • 11th – Frenkie de Jong – Barcelona/Netherlands
  • 12th – Raheem Sterling – Manchester City/England
  • 13th – Eden Hazard – Real Madrid/Belgium
  • 14th – Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City/Belgium
  • 15th – Matthijs de Ligt – Juventus/Netherlands
  • 16th – Sergio Aguero – Manchester City/Argentina
  • 17th – Roberto Firmino – Liverpool/Brazil
  • 18th – Antoine Griezmann – Barcelona/France
  • 19th – Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool/England
  • T20th – Dusan Tadic – Ajax/Serbia
  • T20th – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Arsenal/Gabon
  • 22nd – Heung-Min Song – Tottenham/South Korea
  • 23rd – Hugo Lloris – Tottenham/France
  • T24th – Kalidou Koulibaly – Napoli/Senegal
  • T24th – Marc-Andre Ter Stegen – Barcelona/Germany
  • T26th – Georginio Wijnaldum – Liverpool/Netherlands
  • T26th – Karim Benzema – Real Madrid/France
  • T28th – Donny van de Beek – Ajax/Netherlands
  • T28th – Marquinhos – PSG/Brazil
  • T28th – Joao Felix – Atletico Madrid/Portugal

Would you like to advertise with Game Changer Sports Network? We have the perfect opportunity for any and all businesses please contact Jake at to discuss potential advertising space with us!

Featured Image credit goes to Susana Vera from Reuters

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: