JDC-Miller Motorsports  “Red Dragon” wins 2018 Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen

JDC-Miller Motorsports “Red Dragon” wins 2018 Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen

Stephen Simpson executed a daring move in the closing moments of this year’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen to claim victory for his JDC-Miller Motorsports team their first win in IMSA competition.

The “Red Dragon” Oreca 07 Gibson claimed the victory finishing 1.954 seconds in front of the pole winning No. 54 Core Autosport Oreca of Romain Dumas after a grueling and hot six hour contest.  Finishing third was the No. 6 Penske Racing Acura DPI of Juan Pablo Montoya.


A restart with 36 minutes to go led to the race-changing move which occurred on the backstretch of the 3.4 mile circuit.  Going three wide before the bus-stop Simpson was able to complete the move stretching his lead over the No. 6 Penske Racing Acura driven by Juan Pablo Montoya throughout the lap.  Simpson shared the No. 99 car with teammates Misha Goikhberg and Chris Miller.

Paul Di Resta brought his No. 32 United Autosports Ligier JS 217 home in fourth place while Jordan Taylor finished fifth in his No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R.  Both ESM Tequila Patron Nissan DPI cars failed to finished after being involved in an accident on the third turn of the first lap.


Dirk Mueller held off the rest of the GTLM field to claim the victory for his Ford Chip Ganassi Racing team, its first since the Rolex 24 at Daytona.  Mueller gained the lead during the final round of pit stops claiming with teammate Joey Hand. the win ahead of Antonio Garcia finished second in the No. 3 Corvette C7.R while Patrick Pilet claimed third in his No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR.


Turner Motorsport driver Markus Palttala wheeled his No. 96 BMW M3 GT3 to the class win due to two penalties received by the late-race leading No. 29 Montaplast by Land Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3.  The Land Motorsport team elected to park the car before the race was finished instead of serving their penalty.  Alvaro Parente and his teammate Katherine Legge finished second in their No. 86 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3, while championship leaders Madison Snow and Bryan Sellers came in third in their Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3.


The series travels north of the border to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park next weekend for the Mobil 1 Sports Car Grand Prix.

All images courtesy of Matthew Boyce Photography.

For advertising and sponsorship opportunities with The Game Changer Sports Network please contact Jake at Jake.Jollymore@Gmail.com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: