ECHL Midseason Predictions

ECHL Midseason Predictions

We are almost halfway through the ECHL season with a majority of teams hitting at least 36 games this upcoming weekend. What would be better way to celebrate than to make some predictions?

Last midseason I was able to predict 15 of the 16 playoff teams, while also predicting the eventual Kelly Cup Champion, the Newfoundland Growlers. I ended up with a 60% success rate on all of the midseason predictions (33/55 predictions correct).

All-Rookie Team

A rookie is defined as a player who has played less than 25 games prior to the start of this season.

Goalie– Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, Cincinnati Cyclones
Defensemen– Joseph Duszak, Newfoundland Growlers and Zach Osburn, Kansas City Mavericks
Forwards– Tyler Sheehy, Allen Americans; Liam Pecararo, Greenville Swamp Rabbits; Colt Conrad, Newfoundland Growlers

All-ECHL First Team

Goalie– Parker Milner, South Carolina Stingrays
Defensemen– Logan Roe, Florida Everblades and Matt Petgrave, Brampton Beast
Forwards– Tim McGauley, Utah Grizzlies; David Vallorani, Brampton Beast; Peter Quenneville, Rapid City Rush

All-ECHL Second Team

Goalie– Tomas Sholl, Idaho Steelheads
Defensemen– Eric Knodel, Reading Royals and Alex Breton, Allen Americans
Forwards– Josh Kestner, Toledo Walleye; Giorgio Estephan, Newfoundland Growlers; Jesse Schultz, Cincinnati Cyclones

Individual Awards

CCM/ECHL Rookie of the Year– Tyler Sheehy, Allen Americans
ECHL Scoring Award– David Vallorani, Brampton Beast
AMI Graphics/ECHL Plus Performer of the Year– Logan Roe, Florida Everblades
CCM/ECHL MVP– David Vallorani, Brampton Beast
Warrior Hockey/ECHL Goalie of the Year– Parker Milner, South Carolina Stingrays
CCM/ECHL Defenseman of the Year– Logan Roe, Florida Everblades

The individual awards are the most unpredictable awards due to call-ups, injuries, and other elements, but if those players stay healthy and spend most of their season in the ECHL there is no reason they shouldn’t be in the running for All-Rookie Team, ECHL First and Second Teams, and all other individual awards.

Kelly Cup Playoff Predictions

In the Kelly Cup Playoff format the top 4 teams in each division qualify, while playing the first two rounds entirely in the division, with the winner playing in their respective conference finals for a birth into the Kelly Cup Final.

Eastern Conference

Brabham Cup– South Carolina Stingrays
The Brabham Cup is awarded to the team with the best regular season record and ensures home-ice advantage throughout the playoffs

North Division
#1 Newfoundland Growlers defeat #4 Reading Royals
#2 Maine Mariners defeat #3 Brampton Beast
Newfoundland Growlers defeat Maine Mariners

South Division
#1 South Carolina Stingrays defeat #4 Greenville Swamp Rabbits
#2 Florida Everblades defeat #3 Orlando Solar Bears
#2 Florida Everblades defeat #1 South Carolina Stingrays

Eastern Conference Finals:
Newfoundland Growlers defeat Florida Everblades to win E.A. “Bud” Gingher Memorial Trophy

Western Conference

Central Division
#1 Cincinnati Cyclones defeat #4 Indy Fuel
#2 Toledo Walleye defeat #3 Wheeling Nailers
Cincinnati Cyclones defeat Toledo Walleye

Mountain Division
#1 Allen Americans defeat #4 Rapid City Rush
#2 Idaho Steelheads defeat #3 Utah Grizzlies
Idaho Steelheads defeat Allen Americans

Western Conference Finals:
Idaho Steelheads over Newfoundland Growlers to win the Bruce Taylor Trophy

Kelly Cup Champion: Idaho Steelheads over Newfoundland Growlers

Make sure you stay tuned for our weekly ECHL Weekly article where we give our 3 stars, notable streaks, power rankings, and more.

Photo Credit: Shane Kunz – GCSN Graphic Design

Would you like to advertise with Game Changer Sports Network? We have the perfect opportunity for any and all businesses. Please contact Jake at to discuss potential advertising space with us!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: