Early ECHL Predictions

Early ECHL Predictions

The ECHL season has been underway for two weekends. While there are still a lot of unknowns I am going to give you my predictions for every division, the Kelly Cup Playoffs, and the end of season awards. With many call-ups bound to happen this list will most likely change drastically, but that’s the fun of predictions.

Division Standings

Z- Denotes Brabham Cup Winner


  1. Newfoundland Growlers
  2. Reading Royals
  3. Brampton Beast
  4. Adirondack Thunder
  5. Maine Mariners
  6. Worcester Railers


  1. South Carolina Stingrays
  2. Florida Everblades
  3. Greenville Swamp Rabbits
  4. Atlanta Gladiators
  5. Orlando Solar Bears
  6. Jacksonville Icemen
  7. Norfolk Admirals


  1. Z-Toledo Walleye
  2. Wheeling Nailers
  3. Fort Wayne Komets
  4. Cincinnati Cyclones
  5. Indy Fuel
  6. Kalamazoo Wings


  1. Idaho Steelheads
  2. Tulsa Oilers
  3. Allen Americans
  4. Rapid City Rush
  5. Utah Grizzlies
  6. Wichita Thunder
  7. Kansas City Mavericks

Kelly Cup Playoffs


#1 Newfoundland Growlers def. #4 Adirondack Thunder 4-1

#3 Brampton Beast def. #2 Reading Royals 4-3

Newfoundland Growlers def. Brampton Beast 4-3


#1 South Carolina Stingrays def. #4 Atlanta Gladiators 4-1

#3 Greenville Swamp Rabbits def. #2 Florida Everblades 4-3

South Carolina Stingrays def. Greenville Swamp Rabbits 4-2


#1 Toledo Walleye def. #4 Cincinnati Cyclones 4-2

#2 Wheeling Nailers def. #3 Fort Wayne Komets 4-3

Toledo Walleye def. Wheeling Nailers 4-3


#1 Idaho Steelheads def. #4 Rapid City Rush 4-1

#2 Tulsa Oilers def. #3 Allen Americans 4-3

Idaho Steelheads def Tulsa Oilers 4-2

Conference Championships

Eastern: Newfoundland Growlers def. South Carolina Stingrays 4-1

Western: Idaho Steelheads def. Toledo Walleye 4-3

Kelly Cup Cup

Idaho Steelheads def. Newfoundland Growlers 4-3


With the season being so young and many call-ups bound to happen I am going to give you 5 players I think will be in contention for the 4 major awards contingent on call-ups.

Rookie of the Year

  • Colt Conrad, Newfoundland Growlers
  • Karl El-Mir, Indy Fuel
  • Brandon Hawkins, Wheeling Nailers
  • Scott Conway, Atlanta Gladiators
  • Alex Rodriguez, Norfolk Admirals


  • Josh Dickinson, Utah Grizzlies
  • Spencer Watson, Indy Fuel
  • Colt Conrad, Newfoundland Growlers
  • Shawn Szydlowski, Fort Wayne Komets
  • Cam Brown, Wheeling Nailers

Goalie of the Year

  • Michael Houser, Cincinnati Cyclones
  • Thomas Sholl, Idaho Steelheads
  • Pat Nagle, Toledo Walleye
  • Devin Williams, Tulsa Oilers
  • Sean Bonar, Atlanta Gladiators

Defensemen of the Year

  • Eric Knodel, Reading Royals
  • Logan Roe, Florida Everblades
  • Stephan Falkovsky, Allen Americans
  • Matt Petgrave, Brampton Beast
  • Keoni Texiera, Indy Fuel

In the next few weeks we are going to name the Best ECHL Goal Horn via a Facebook poll on our Facebook page. All 26 teams will be involved.

Featured Photo Credit: Kyle Hernandez-GCSN

For advertisement and sponsorship opportunities with the Game Changer Sports Network please contact Jake at Info@GameChangerSportsNetwork.com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: