2021-22 ECHL Predictions

2021-22 ECHL Predictions

The 2021-2022 ECHL season kicks off later today with the Newfoundland Growlers traveling to Trois-Rivières, QC to take on one of the newest ECHL franchises, the Trois-Rivières Lions. The other new franchise, the Iowa Heartlanders, will kick things off at home Friday against the Kansas City Mavericks. Will one of the new franchises hoist the Kelly Cup in their Inaugural Season like the Growlers did in 2018-2019? Will the Fort Wayne Komets be able to defend their cup with the league going back to 27 teams? Let’s take a look at how I think the league will look at the end of the season.


Eastern Conference

North Division

  1. Trois-Rivières Lions
  2. Reading Royals
  3. Newfoundland Growlers
  4. Adirondack Thunder
  5. Maine Mariners
  6. Worcester Railers

South Division

  1. Greenville Swamp Rabbits
  2. Florida Everblades
  3. South Carolina Stingrays
  4. Orlando Solar Bears
  5. Norfolk Admirals
  6. Atlanta Gladiators
  7. Jacksonville Icemen

Western Conference

Central Division

  1. Cincinnati Cyclones
  2. Fort Wayne Komets
  3. Toledo Walleye
  4. Wheeling Nailers
  5. Iowa Heartlanders
  6. Indy Fuel
  7. Kalamazoo Wings

Mountain Division

  1. Allen Americans
  2. Idaho Steelheads
  3. Utah Grizzlies
  4. Kansas City Mavericks
  5. Wichita Thunder
  6. Rapid City Rush
  7. Tulsa Oilers

End of Season Awards

Most Valuable Player: Chad Costello, Allen

John Brophy Award (Coach of the Year): Andrew Lord, Greenville

Goalie of the Year: Billy Christopoulos, Toledo

John A Daley Memorial Trophy: Rookie of the Year: Cédric Desruisseaux, Trois-Rivières

Defenseman of the Year: Patrick McNally, Reading

Leading Scorer: Chad Costello, Allen

Brabham Cup: Allen Americans

Kelly Cup Playoffs

Eastern Conference

North Division Semifinals

#1 Trois-Rivières Lions defeat #4 Adirondack Thunder 4 games to 1

#3 Newfoundland Growlers defeat #2 Reading Royals 4 games to 3

North Division Finals

Newfoundland Growlers defeat Trois-Rivières Lions 4 games to 3

South Division Semifinals

#1 Greenville Swamp Rabbits defeat #4 Orlando Solar Bears 4 games to 2

#2 Florida Everblades defeat #3 South Carolina Stingrays 4 games to 3

South Division Finals

Greenville Swamp Rabbits defeat Florida Everblades 4 games to 3

Eastern Conference Finals

Newfoundland Growlers defeat Greenville Swamp Rabbits to win the E.A. “Bud” Gingher Trophy

Western Conference

Central Division Semifinals

#1 Cincinnati Cyclones defeat #4 Wheeling Nailers 4 games to 2

#3 Toledo Walleye defeat #2 Fort Wayne Komets 4 games to 1

Central Division Finals

Cincinnati Cyclones defeat Toledo Walleye 4 games to 3

Mountain Division Semifinals

#1 Allen Americans defeat #4 Kansas City Mavericks 4 games to none

#2 Idaho Steelheads defeat #3 Utah Grizzlies 4 games to 2

Mountain Division Finals

Idaho Steelheads defeat Allen Americans 4 games to 3.

Western Conference Finals

Idaho Steelheads defeat the Cincinnati Cyclones 4 games to 2 to win the Bruce Taylor Trophy.

Kelly Cup Finals

Idaho Steelheads defeat the Newfoundland Growlers 4 games to 3 to hoist the Kelly Cup for the first time since the 2006-2007 season when they defeated the now defunct Dayton Bombers.

Stay tuned for our first addition of our ECHL Power Rankings on 11/01 along with some other entertaining pieces.

Photo Credit: wpta21.com

Would you like to advertise with Game Changer Sports Network? We have the perfect opportunity for any and all businesses please contact Jake at Info@GameChangerSportsNetwork.com to discuss potential advertising space with us!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: