The Ted Lindsay Award goes to the most valuable player in hockey each year. This year’s nominees are Leon Draisaitl of the Edmonton Oilers, Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avlanche and Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers.

Leon Draisaitl

(Jason Franson/Associated Press)

Draisaitl, the Art Ross recipient for tallying the most points with 110, scored 43 goals and helped on 67 others. He had the most power play points of any player with 44 and had a fantastic shooting percentage of 19.7%. His 10 game winning goals are tied for first in the NHL, while also averaging more ice time than any of the other candidates spending an average of 22:37 off the bench.

Nathan MacKinnon

(John Locher/Associated Press)

Totaling 93 points, MacKinnon scored 35 goals with 58 helpers. He had a +/- rating of +13 and took more shots than anyone in the league with 318. Of the nominees for the Ted Lindsay award, he had the least amount of penalty minutes with 12.

Artemi Panarin

(Associated Press)

In his first season with the Rangers, Panarin scored 32 goals and got 63 assists for 95 points. He scored the most even handed points of any player in the league and had the second best +/- rating of +36 which was the best mark for a forward.

Drasiatl, MacKinnon and Panarin all had excellent seasons. Traditionalists may tab Draisaitl as the favorite as he recorded the most points in the league but all three are worthy of the award for different reasons. It remains to be seen who will win which will be announced during the conference finals in September.

Featured image credit: NHL

Would you like to advertise with Game Changer Sports Network? We have the perfect opportunity for any and all businesses please contact Jake at to discuss potential advertising space with us!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: