We are almost halfway through the ECHL season with a majority of teams hitting at least 36 games this upcoming weekend. What would be better way to celebrate than to make some predictions?

Last midseason I was able to predict 15 of the 16 playoff teams, while also predicting the eventual Kelly Cup Champion, the Newfoundland Growlers. I ended up with a 60% success rate on all of the midseason predictions (33/55 predictions correct).

All-Rookie Team

A rookie is defined as a player who has played less than 25 games prior to the start of this season.

Goalie– Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, Cincinnati Cyclones
Defensemen– Joseph Duszak, Newfoundland Growlers and Zach Osburn, Kansas City Mavericks
Forwards– Tyler Sheehy, Allen Americans; Liam Pecararo, Greenville Swamp Rabbits; Colt Conrad, Newfoundland Growlers

All-ECHL First Team

Goalie– Parker Milner, South Carolina Stingrays
Defensemen– Logan Roe, Florida Everblades and Matt Petgrave, Brampton Beast
Forwards– Tim McGauley, Utah Grizzlies; David Vallorani, Brampton Beast; Peter Quenneville, Rapid City Rush

All-ECHL Second Team

Goalie– Tomas Sholl, Idaho Steelheads
Defensemen– Eric Knodel, Reading Royals and Alex Breton, Allen Americans
Forwards– Josh Kestner, Toledo Walleye; Giorgio Estephan, Newfoundland Growlers; Jesse Schultz, Cincinnati Cyclones

Individual Awards

CCM/ECHL Rookie of the Year– Tyler Sheehy, Allen Americans
ECHL Scoring Award– David Vallorani, Brampton Beast
AMI Graphics/ECHL Plus Performer of the Year– Logan Roe, Florida Everblades
CCM/ECHL MVP– David Vallorani, Brampton Beast
Warrior Hockey/ECHL Goalie of the Year– Parker Milner, South Carolina Stingrays
CCM/ECHL Defenseman of the Year– Logan Roe, Florida Everblades

The individual awards are the most unpredictable awards due to call-ups, injuries, and other elements, but if those players stay healthy and spend most of their season in the ECHL there is no reason they shouldn’t be in the running for All-Rookie Team, ECHL First and Second Teams, and all other individual awards.

Kelly Cup Playoff Predictions

In the Kelly Cup Playoff format the top 4 teams in each division qualify, while playing the first two rounds entirely in the division, with the winner playing in their respective conference finals for a birth into the Kelly Cup Final.

Eastern Conference

Brabham Cup– South Carolina Stingrays
The Brabham Cup is awarded to the team with the best regular season record and ensures home-ice advantage throughout the playoffs

North Division
#1 Newfoundland Growlers defeat #4 Reading Royals
#2 Maine Mariners defeat #3 Brampton Beast
Newfoundland Growlers defeat Maine Mariners

South Division
#1 South Carolina Stingrays defeat #4 Greenville Swamp Rabbits
#2 Florida Everblades defeat #3 Orlando Solar Bears
#2 Florida Everblades defeat #1 South Carolina Stingrays

Eastern Conference Finals:
Newfoundland Growlers defeat Florida Everblades to win E.A. “Bud” Gingher Memorial Trophy

Western Conference

Central Division
#1 Cincinnati Cyclones defeat #4 Indy Fuel
#2 Toledo Walleye defeat #3 Wheeling Nailers
Cincinnati Cyclones defeat Toledo Walleye

Mountain Division
#1 Allen Americans defeat #4 Rapid City Rush
#2 Idaho Steelheads defeat #3 Utah Grizzlies
Idaho Steelheads defeat Allen Americans

Western Conference Finals:
Idaho Steelheads over Newfoundland Growlers to win the Bruce Taylor Trophy

Kelly Cup Champion: Idaho Steelheads over Newfoundland Growlers

Make sure you stay tuned for our weekly ECHL Weekly article where we give our 3 stars, notable streaks, power rankings, and more.

Photo Credit: Shane Kunz – GCSN Graphic Design

Would you like to advertise with Game Changer Sports Network? We have the perfect opportunity for any and all businesses. Please contact Jake at Info@GameChangerSportsNetwork.com to discuss potential advertising space with us!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: