2020 IMSA Rolex 24: Race Recap

2020 IMSA Rolex 24: Race Recap

It’s the Monday following the most grueling sports car racing in the United States, the Rolex 24 at Daytona. The drivers, teams and crews withstood 24 hours of non stop racing action, with only four teams being able to be crowned victorious. The term “going the distance” applies here, as not only did the teams have to contend with a twice-around the clock race, but the record for distance raced was also shattered as well. Let’s recap it all!

Wayne Taylor Racing captured their second consecutive overall victory in this years Rolex 24 at Daytona, with drivers Kamui Kobayashi, Renger van der Zande, Scott Dixon and Ryan Briscoe. After numerous set backs throughout the race, including a power steering issue and a stop and hold penalty due to leaving the pits too early, the Wayne Taylor Racing No. 10 Cadillac DPi team pushed forward and ultimately recovered for the victory. The win also solidifies the Cadillac DPi machine’s undefeated streak at the Rolex 24 during the DPi era. No other manufacturer has won the 24 Hours of Daytona in the DPi era.

While Mazda showed their strength early in the race, their pace was just no match for the WTR team, as the No. 77 Mazda DPi had to settle for runner up overall. Oliver Jarvis, Tristan Nunez and Olivier Pla guided their No. 77 to second, their best finish as a team overall and their first time finishing the Rolex 24 at Daytona as a team. Their previous outings have all resulted in DNF’s. The No. 5 Mustang Sampling Cadillac DPi of Joao Barbosa, Sebastien Bourdais and Loic Duval rounded out the overall podium.

(Barry Cantrell/IMSA)

It was a two car race for much of LMP2 class contest, as the No. 81 DragonSpeed Oreca claimed the class victory for the second consecutive year. A right rear puncture early in the race was the only set back of the event, as the team ran a near-perfect strategy with drivers Harrison Newey, Ben Hanley, Henrik Hedman, and Colin Braun. The No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Oreca dominated the early stages of the race behind an impressive opening stint with Ben Keating. However, with under seven hours to go, Keating would make contact with the wall, resulting in a lengthy pit stop which cost them a number of laps. The No. 18 Era Motorsports Oreca would round out the podium in third with drivers Kyle Tilley, Dwight Merriman, Ryan Lewis, and Nic Minassian.

(Yahoo! Sports)

The No. 24 BMW M8 GTE of John Edwards, Augusto Farfus, Chaz Mostert and Jesse Krohn claimed the GTLM class honors in a race long battle with both Porsche 911 RSR 19’s and the lone surviving Corvette C8.R. The winning came after a daring final hour move from Jesse Krohn on Nick Tandy in the No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR which ultimately sealed the teams second consecutive Rolex 24 victory. The No. 912 of Earl Bamber, Laurens Vanthoor and Mathieu Jaminet and the No. 911 of Nick Tandy, Fred Makowiecki and Matt Campbell rounded out the podium in GTLM. The debuted an impressive run as the No. 3 Corvette C8.R finished its first race in fourth position.

(Rick Dole/IMSA)

Lamborghini once again claimed GTD class honors, with this year’s Rolex 24 at Daytona victory going to Paul Miller Racing. Andrea Caldarelli, Corey Lewis, Bryan Sellers and Madison Snow guided the No. 48 Paul Miller Racing Lamborgini Huracan GT3 to the class win, which saw the team best their second place run in 2011 with a victory. The No. 44 GRT Magnus Lamborghini claimed second place with Spencer Pumpelly, John Potter, Andy Lally and Marco Mapelli driving the car. Third place went to the No. 88 WRT Speedstar Audi R8 LMS evo driven by Mirko Bortolotti, Rolf Ineichen, Daniel Morad and Dries Vanthoor.

Featured Image Credit: Daytona Beach News Journal

Would you like to advertise with Game Changer Sports Network? We have the perfect opportunity for any and all businesses! please contact Jake at Info@GameChangerSportsNetwork.com to discuss potential advertising space with us!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: