Motor Sports

GCSN TOP TEN: Youngest Winners in NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series History

Number 10: Chase Elliott

Logan Whitton/NKP

One of the more recent first time young winners, Elliott claimed his first career win during the 2018 season at Watkins Glen International. He was 22 years, 8 months, and 8 days old when he claimed his first win. Since then he has captured three more wins at Dover and Kansas at the end of 2018, as well as the Talladega race in 2019.

Number 9: Richard Petty

ISC Archives

To have a name like Richard Petty not on this list would have been a travesty. Before his famed 200 wins in the NASCAR, Petty claimed his first win at the Charlotte Fairgrounds in 1960 at 22 years, 7 months and 26 days old. The rest, we say, is history.

Number 8: Bobby Hillin


One of the names of the late 80’s and early 90’s that many fans may have forgotten, Bobby Hillin claimed his first win at Talladega Superspeedway in 1986. At the time of the win, his was 22 years, 1 month and 22 days old. This win would be only of Hillin’s career.

Number 7: Erik Jones

Fox Sports

Another one of the current younger drivers in the sport, Erik Jones scored his first career Cup win in 2018 at Daytona. He scored his first career win at 22 years, 1 month and 7 days old.

Number 6: Glen “Fireball” Roberts

Hemmings Motor News

A legend of the early days of the sport, Glen “Fireball” Roberts claimed his first win in NASCAR in 1950 at the Hillsboro Speedway. At the time, Fireball was 21 years, 6 months and 24 days old and would go on to have a very successful NASCAR career.

Number 5: Donald Thomas

Car Throttle

The younger brother of NASCAR Hall-of-Famer Herb Thomas, Donald Thomas raced in NASCAR’s top series from 1950 to 1956 and claimed his first and only series win 1952 at Lakewood Speedway. He won at the age of 20 years, 4 months and 6 days.

Number 4: Kyle Busch

Hendrick Motorsports

One of the mainstays of the sports for the last decade, Kyle Busch claimed his first Cup series win at Auto Club Speedway in 2005. His win came at the age of 20 years, 4 months and 2 days. From there, Busch has built a legacy of his own, with over 200 wins in all three of NASCAR’s top series.

Number 3: Justin Haley

Fox News

The most recent winner on this list, Justin Haley claimed his first NASCAR Cup win at Daytona in 2019. The win came at the Coca-Cola No Sugar 400 in July and at the time of the win, Haley was 20 years, 2 months and 9 days old.

Number 2: Trevor Bayne

David Graham AP

Trevor Bayne scored his first career Cup series win in 2011 at the most prestigious race on the schedule, the Daytona 500. At the time of his win, Bayne was 20 years and 1 day old. Since then, Bayne has remained win-less as he continues to push towards one day claiming the checkered flag again.

Number 1: Joey Logano

Fox Sports

When you think of starts of the current era of NASCAR, Joey Logano’s name always comes up. Logano was 19 years, 1 month and 4 days old when he scored his first Cup series win at New Hampshire in 2009.

Feature Image Credit: NASCAR

For advertising purposes and sponsorship opportunities with The Game Changer Sports Network please contact

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: