Mane, Salah, and Aubameyang headline 2018 CAF Player of the Year shortlist

The Confederation of African Football unveiled the shortlist for their Player of the Year award set to be given out to the most outstanding athlete from the continent in January of next year. In all, the shortlist features 34 players representing 17 nations both big and small.

Morocco was the most represented nation, with five, which isn’t all too surprising as they did compete in the most recent World Cup. With that being said, Algeria failed to make the biggest party of the summer and they have four players on the list. Egypt, Nigeria, and Senegal round out the top five with three a-piece.

Easily the most high-profile players in contention include Liverpool wingers Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane, Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Crystal Palace talisman Wilfried Zaha, and Napoli anchor Kalidou Koulibaly, among others, while former Liverpool playmaker Victor Moses was snubbed out off the list.

Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane are both favorites to win the CAF Player of the Year.

The prestigious award has been handed out since 1970 and has been won by some of the best players the world has ever seen like George Weah, Samuel Eto’o, and Didier Drogba. Beloved Ivorian Yaya Toure hoisted up the trophy for four consecutive years between 2011 and 2014, but the three winners since have all been different players.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang won in 2015 while with Borussia Dortmund, Riyad Mahrez was awarded in 2016 while at Leicester City, and Mo Salah won last year a few months after moving to Liverpool. So while this is a wonderful award to win, it is usually handed out to someone who has recently or will soon move. So watch out for transfer rumors to spark after January 8th.

With all that being said, who would you choose as your African footballer of the year? Let us know on any of our social media, we’d love to know what you think!

Player Name Club Nationality
Abdelmoumene Djabou ES Setif Algeria
Ahmed Gomaa El Masry Egypt
Ahmed Musa Al-Nassr Nigeria
Alex Iwobi Arsenal Nigeria
Andre Onana Ajax Cameroon
Anis Badri Esperance Tunisia
Ayoub El Kaabi Hebei China Fortune Morocco
Ben Malango TP Mazembe DR Congo
Denis Onyango Mamelodi Sundowns Uganda
Fanev Andriatsima Clermont Foot Madagascar
Franck Kom Esperance Cameroon
Jacinto Muondo Dala Primiero de Agosto Angola
Hakim Ziyech Ajax Morocco
Idrissa Gueye Everton Senegal
Ismail Haddad Wydad Athletic Club Morocco
Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele AS Vita DR Congo
Kalidou Koulibaly Napoli Senegal
Mahmoud Behhalib Raja Club Athletic Morocco
Mehdi Benatia Juventus Morocco
Mohamed Salah Liverpool Egypt
Moussa Marega Porto Mali
Naby Keita Liverpool Guinea
Odion Ighalo Changchun Yatai Nigeria
Percy Tau Union Saint-Gilloise South Africa
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Arsenal Gabon
Riyad Mahrez Manchester City Algeria
Sadio Mane Liverpool Senegal
Taha Khenissi Esperance Tunisia
Thomas Partey Atletico Madrid Ghana
Wahbi Khazri Saint-Etienne Tunisia
Walid Soliman Ahly Egypt
Wilfried Zaha Crystal Palace Ivory Coast
Yacine Brahimi Porto Algeria
Youcef Belaili Esperance Algeria

Country allocation: Morocco (5), Algeria (4), Egypt (3), Nigeria (3), Senegal (3), Cameroon (2), DR Congo (2), Angola (1), Gabon (1), Ghana (1), Guinea (1), Ivory Coast (1), Madagascar (1), Mali (1), South Africa (1), Tunisia (3), Uganda (1)

For advertising and sponsorship opportunities with The Game Changer Sports Network please contact Jake at

Photo Credit:

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply